The Death Race movie franchise has captivated audiences for decades with its thrilling and dystopian world of high-stakes racing. In this article, we will explore the order in which the Death Race movies were released and chronologically, providing a comprehensive understanding of the series’ continuity and evolution.

From the cult classic Death Race 2000 in 1975 to the long-awaited sequel Death Race 2050 in 2017, each installment offers a unique and exhilarating experience.

Buckle up and get ready for an in-depth exploration of the Death Race movies, as we dive into the thrilling world of high-octane racing and survival.

Original Continuity Films

The original continuity of the Death Race franchise consists of two films: ‘Death Race 2000’ (1975) and ‘Death Race 2050’ (2017). ‘Death Race 2000’ serves as the foundation of the franchise, introducing viewers to a dystopian future where a deadly Transcontinental Road Race is held. The film features the iconic character Frankenstein as one of the competitors and cleverly incorporates satire into its low-budget yet exciting storyline.

‘Death Race 2050’ takes place decades after the events of the first film and serves as a long-awaited sequel. It brings back the satire that made the original so memorable while also paying homage to its predecessor. Despite its low production value, ‘Death Race 2050’ manages to provide campy fun and serves as a satisfying addition to the original continuity. These two films form the backbone of the Death Race franchise, showcasing the evolution of the concept over four decades while maintaining the core elements that have made it a cult classic.

Remake Continuity Films

To delve into the remake continuity of the Death Race franchise, we must explore the films that followed the original two installments. In this remake continuity, the series took a different direction, starting with Death Race 2 in 2010.

This film serves as a prequel, delving into the origins of the character Frankenstein, who would go on to become the iconic competitor in the Death Race. Death Race 2 follows Carl Lucas as he competes in the deadly race to win his freedom. While the film features a notable cast, it falls flat compared to the first film in terms of excitement and storytelling.

The story continues in Death Race 3: Inferno, which serves as a sequel to Death Race 2. This time, Frankenstein faces a new deadly challenge in South Africa, adding a touch of Mad Max-like elements to the franchise. Death Race 3: Inferno improves upon its predecessor in terms of story, but still falls short of the original Death Race.

Finally, in 2008, a reboot simply titled Death Race was released. Directed by Paul W.S. Anderson, this film resets the series continuity and introduces a new protagonist, Jensen Ames, who is framed for murder and forced to compete in the Death Race. While lacking the satirical elements of the original film, Death Race offers a modern upgrade with intense action and thrilling race sequences.

Popular Video Streaming Services

Netflix, Disney+, Hulu, Amazon Prime Video, and Crunchyroll are popular video streaming services that offer a wide range of animated shows and movies for viewers to enjoy. These platforms have become go-to destinations for animation enthusiasts, providing a vast library of animated content from various genres and styles.

Netflix stands out with its extensive collection of animated shows and movies. It includes original content like ‘BoJack Horseman’ and ‘Big Mouth,’ which have garnered critical acclaim for their unique storytelling and adult-oriented themes. Disney+, on the other hand, is home to beloved animated films and series from Disney, Pixar, Marvel, and Star Wars. Viewers can indulge in classics such as ‘Frozen’ and ‘Toy Story,’ as well as newer hits like ‘The Mandalorian.’

Frequently Asked Questions

Who Directed the Original ‘Death Race 2000’ Movie?

The original “Death Race 2000” movie was directed by Paul Bartel. Released in 1975, it is a dystopian film with a satirical take on a transcontinental road race, featuring the character Frankenstein as the competitor.

How Many Death Race Movies Are There in Total?

There are a total of five Death Race movies. The franchise began with Death Race 2000 in 1975 and continued with Death Race (2008), Death Race 2 (2010), Death Race 3: Inferno (2013), and Death Race 2050 (2017).

What Is the Premise of the Death Race Franchise?

The premise of the Death Race franchise revolves around brutal and deadly races where competitors fight for their lives. These races take place in dystopian settings and are often filled with satire, action, and intrigue.

Are the Death Race Movies Connected in Terms of Story Continuity?

Yes, the Death Race movies are connected in terms of story continuity. The original continuity includes Death Race 2000 (1975) and Death Race 2050 (2017), while the remake continuity includes Death Race 2 (2010), Death Race 3: Inferno (2013), Death Race (2008), and Death Race: Beyond Anarchy (2018).

Which Death Race Movie Is Considered a Prequel to the Original Film?

The Death Race movie considered a prequel to the original film is Death Race 2 (2010). It explores the origins of Frankenstein and follows Carl Lucas as he competes for freedom. However, it falls short compared to the first film.


In conclusion, the Death Race movie franchise has provided audiences with decades of thrilling and dystopian racing films. Whether watched in release order or chronological order, each installment offers a unique and exhilarating experience. From the cult classic Death Race 2000 to the long-awaited sequel Death Race 2050, these films have captivated fans of the genre with their mix of action, satire, and suspense. So, buckle up and dive into the thrilling world of high-octane racing and survival.

Similar Posts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *